Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Review: Kiss Crush Collide by Christina Meredith

Kiss Crush Collide
Christina Meredith
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Published: December 27, 2011
Trade Paperback {p.320}
Source: Publisher
Genre: Young Adult
Leah Johnson
Challenge: 100+
Buy the Book: Amazon

Leah has the life most high school girls would kill for—popularity, glowing grades, a rich, athletic boyfriend. So why does she feel like she can’t breathe? And why can’t she stop thinking about the boy from the country club? The one who isn’t her boyfriend, the one that her mother would never, ever approve of, the one that her perfect older sisters would never, ever look at twice. The one who is always looking back at her. Irresistible attraction, smoldering glances, the bad boy and the good girl—Kiss Crush Collide has everything that a steamy forbidden romance should, and then some.

With graceful and honest writing and an electric love story, this is a book about growing into your own skin. For fans of Perfect Chemistry, Sarah Dessen, and John Green.
This book states that it’s for fans of Perfect Chemistry, but I didn’t get that feel from it. Kiss Crush Collide is a very slow starter that didn’t have that much depth. I’m not completely sure if I’m measuring it against Perfect Chemistry because it said it was for its fans, but it didn’t quite measure up.

From the start I was not a fan of Leah’s sister Yorkie or her mother. Yorkie was selfish and her mother was a total pain. Her father wasn’t much better. He completely let his wife run roughshod over everything. I felt he was an unnecessary character in this novel.

It took me a while to complete this book because it just wasn’t holding my interest. I was constantly putting it aside to read something else, and when I was reading this one, I tended to skim the chapters. Neither Leah nor Duffy was all that memorable as characters.
Book Obsessed

2 comments:

Nerd Girls said...[Reply]

That's how I know I don't like a book, if I put it down and then don't have any interest in picking it up or I don't care what happens to the characters.

Stinks that's how it happened with this book, as the synopsis and cover are really intriguing.


Nerd Girls at Books to the Sky

Rita Webb said...[Reply]

Cover looks good, but the synopsis didn't interst me. I like good girl/bad boy stories, but there didn't seem to be anything special about this one. Now after your comments, I especially don't think I'd bother.

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...